County of Marquette, County Commission Minutes

This collection consists of meeting minutes and agendas created by the Marquette County Board of Commissioners during regular, special, and committee meetings from 1852 to 2005. The records in this collection document the political, economic, and environmental history of Marquette County, Michigan. Committees in these records of particular importance are the Budget and Executive Committee, the Environmental Quality Committee, the Committee of the Whole, the Intergovernmental Relations Committee, the Finance Committee, the Planning Commission, the Social Services Board, the Environment, Lands, and Buildings Committee, and the Personnel Committee.

Marquette County is located in the north central Upper Peninsula bordering Delta, Alger, Dickinson, and Menominee counties. County-level government was formally organized on April 4, 1848. The Marquette County Board of Commissioners acts as the policy-making body of the county. The County Administrator carries out policy set forth by the Board of Commissioners and is responsible for financial management of the county. The members of the Marquette County Board of Commissioners are elected for 2 year terms. At the beginning of each calendar year the board elects a chairman and vice-chairman. The chairman presides over the meetings, which are open to the public. The meetings are held on a monthly basis and the annual meeting is held the second Monday of October. The board of commissioners is a system of committees and boards. Committee actions are advisory only and the final action is made by the entire board.

See the full finding aid here.