

# **Dedication**of

# Historical Identification Plaque of the

Pioneer Grange Hall now the

**American Legion Club House** 

June 14, 1991 3:30 p.m. Stephenson, Michigan



The Pioneer Grange Hall in Stephenson was the first of its kind in Menominee County. It was built and dedicated by the farm organization in 1911.

The site was purchased from the late Charles Swanson and the contractor was the late Scylla Horde, who built several other noteworthy buildings in the area including the Church of the Precious Blood.

In addition to its use by the Grange, the building was used for community events and, for several years, as part of the Cloverland Farmers' Fair. When the fair was discontinued in 1932, the building stood idle.

In 1932, the Stephenson Masonic Lodge purchased the hall and it was used by the Masonic Lodge and Order of the Eastern Star until those groups consolidated with the Menominee Lodge and Chapter in 1989.

The building is now the home of the Godfrey Anderson American Legion Post No. 43, Stephenson, Michigan.

### Program

Master of Ceremonies
Invocation
Pledge of Allegiance
Welcome
Choral Presentation
Unveiling
Remarks
Remarks
Remarks State Representative Dave Anthony Michigan House of Representatives, 109th District
Speaker
Choral Presentation Community Choir
Benediction



### Social Hour and Dinner

Presentation of George Beaudoin Plaque

Elton Westman ...... Humorous Narration

#### Godfrey Anderson American Legion Post No. 43

#### **Officers**

Jerry Lynch, Commander
Peter Oczus, 1st Vice Commander
Myron Thoune, 2nd Vice Commander
Harold Phillippo, Chaplain
John Sundquist, Judge Advocate
Victor Gerue, Historian
Byron Chartre, Adjutant
John Horvath, Finance Officer
Rubert Thonne, Service Officer
Richard Walli, Sergeant-at-Arms

#### **Executive Officers**

Francis Vetort

Peter Oczus

John Adams

## Legion Auxiliary Unit No. 43 Officers

Stella Horvath, President
Marie Adams, Vice President
Eileen Andrews, Secretary
Gertrude Salp, Chaplain
Elaine Berglin, Sergeant-at-Arms
Marion Horvath, Historian
Rhoda Paronto, Treasurer

#### **Dedication Committee**

John Adams, Chairman
Clifford Brown Co-Chairman
Stella Horvath
Francis Vetort
William Sharon
Elizabeth Brown
Marie Adams
John Mellinger